Beautiful New Mexico (or Duck, Duck, Goose)

Maybe it’s a chicken and egg kind of thing: Was I drawn to landscape design because I was inspired by the beauty of the natural world and the materials I get to work with? Or do I find inspiration in the environment around me because I think like a landscape designer? I think it was the former and I think I am continuously becoming a better landscape designer by paying attention to the world around me. The wealth of colors, shapes, textures and contrasts to be found in the great outside always captures my imagination and invigorates my design process while teaching me new things.

With that in mind, I would like to share some photos of my recent trip to New Mexico. It was too brief a visit with family, but I can’t wait to return, maybe in a different season and with a much larger memory card for my camera. I am sure that hints of these images will be showing up in new designs I work on this year.

Valley of Fire: Volcanic rock for miles

Bright green Yuccas growing out of the black basalt

Pair of Bald Eagles, with ducks, at the Bosque de Apache National Wildlife Refuge near the Rio Grande

Flock of Sandhill Cranes at the Bosque de Apache National Wildlife Refuge

A large flock of Snow Geese overwintering near the Rio Grande

Winter color at the Bosque de Apache National Wildlife Refuge in NM

Evening Grosbeak at the feeder

Snow on Yuccas along Interstate 10

 

I know they can be terrible pests in a garden, but in the woods, they are majestic.

Doe and Fawn enjoying pear slices tossed from the deck

Daddy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beautiful New Mexico (or Duck, Duck, Goose)

  1. Pingback: Beautiful New Mexico (or Duck, Duck, Goose)

Leave a Reply

