Snow

Happy New Year to all. It has been almost a month since my last post. Like most of you, I had my hands full in December with work, family and the holidays. Luckily for me, I also squeezed in a short vacation in Montreal before Christmas. Before I left town we had a bit of a storm (see my last post of Dec. 8), which left a beautiful frosting of snow on our nearby mountains. On the 9th I flew to Montreal, the same day they had their first big snowfall of the year — about 10″. I wasn’t sure I would be able to get there that day, but my flight was delayed only 10 minutes. I guess Air Canada knows how to fly in less-than-perfect weather. It ranged from about 20 to about 30 degrees Fahrenheit when we were there and although it was freezing, we spent a lot of time outside. I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the beautifully stark, bare trees dusted with snow. I love how skeletal they are. It’s so much the opposite of home,where this is our “green” time of year.

Here is the difference between our snow and their snow (including about a 50 degree difference in temperature).

Los Angeles, Dec. 8, 2009

Montreal, Dec. 10, 2009

Montreal, Dec. 10, 2009

And here is a sweet video from a local in Montreal documenting the snowy evening. It has that frenchy “je ne sais quoi” quality about it that infuses the city. Plus, they have those mini snowplows for the sidewalks. Can a snowplow be “cute”?

Snowplow "major" and snowplow "minor"

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow

  1. Pingback: Snow

Leave a Reply

