TV Debut

This is a big week for debuts. For one thing, this is my first blog, and my first blog entry, ever. And I’m going to be on TV. I guess that’s worth blogging about, so why not start now?

Thanks to a lucky break, I am going to be featured on NBC’s show OPEN HOUSE this weekend! They are doing a segment on a project I just completed in Sherman Oaks. We removed almost 1800 square feet of turf grass and replaced it with flagstone paths, low-water ground cover, perennials, succulents and even some vegetables. The clients for this project are very cool, forward-thinking people with great taste. So, needless to say, it was a blast working on this project with them. The producers of the show were great and made me feel really comfortable during the taping even though I was totally nervous because I’ve never done anything like this before.

Once I get a clip of the video, I will post it on this website, but if you are anxious to see me in action right away, you can watch it as it airs this weekend. It will be shown twice, first on Saturday, Oct. 3 at 7 p.m. and again on Sunday, Oct. 4 at 7 a.m.. In L.A., it will be on channel 4, but times and channels may vary in other parts of the country.

In the meantime, I’ll show you a couple of photos. Just  a month ago this front yard was covered with boring turf grass struggling to survive under our new (much needed) watering restrictions. The grass was replaced with a mixture of new plants that provide various colors and textures and use much less water than a lawn! The plants are babies now, but over the next few months they will grow to fill in the space nicely. Each one will have its own role to play in the larger composition.

after

after

before

before

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TV Debut

  1. Laurie Dill says:

    BRAVO MAGGIE!
    Good job!
    Now, I have to learn all this from you!
    xxL

  2. Karen Stuart says:

    Maggie- thank you for your calm, inspiring brilliance.
    We love our new yard and can hardly wait for you to come back and do the front yard.

    Karen
    santa monica

  3. catherine bailie says:

    WOW GIRL!!! You are TRULY amazing, so energized and inspired/inspiring. I’ve been thinking about you and what’s going on in your world and am blown away. Talk about taking the ball and running with it…. GEEZ- Touchdown Sister!
    I’m really really proud of you for following your dreams AND tearing up water sponging lawns and creating a gorgeous water wise space. You Rock!

  4. Pingback: TV Debut

Leave a Reply

